Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: what makes you beleive or not beleive in God

Blog Entries

Default what makes you beleive or not beleive in God

I consider Myself an atheist sometimes even a culture warrior and the last few years I spend a lot of time thinking about religion

I think what did it for me is reading the bible a lot of it are just about disgusting,
    killing the first born child in every Egyptian family
    its OK to keep a Jewish slave for 6 years
    sending bears to rip off the arms of children
    stoning children
    putting people to death for working on Sunday
    and of course there is that small matter of evolution
    and the earth being less then 12000 years old

I could go on and on

but you look around and think..... could all these Billions of people be wrong
    am I the only one who See's this

look at all the Church's built. all the people who have in my opinion wasted their lives as priests and nuns and suicide bombers

I'm an avid student of religion.

That, of course, will make an atheist of anyone.

But I'm not an atheist - I think saying you believe or disbelieve in god is irrelevant.

We don't call people a-greencheesers because they don't believe the moon is made of green cheese.

stefan segal

Tommy...you asked one question, then gave your personal answer to another.

If you wanted to answer: "Is the bible the word of god?", is a very different question than: "Do you believe in god?"

That the christians hijacked Jewish history, Babalonian paganisms, and tacked on jesus history...redacted vast portions for national securiety, edited and opined about what was left...copied it, bound it, then proclaimed it "the word of god"...is the choice of morons...but we are rich in those types.

That one views the miraculous in nature, the birth of any new life, the rebirth in Spring and the dearth of universal justice and meaning...throws many of us into the camp of: "god moves in mysterious ways."