PDA

View Full Version : As China Prospers, It Is More Unhealthy

Darmosiel
09-15-2011, 11:46 AM
As China prospers, it is more unhealthy

Heart disease, cancer and respiratory disease have replaced hepatitis, diarrhea and malaria as desk work replaces farming, cars replace bicycles and smoking remains popular.

By GILLIAN WONG

The Associated Press

BEIJING During a recent weekday lunch, middle-aged Wu Zhixin had a plate of shredded pork noodles glistening with oil and washed it down with a paper cup of vodka-like alcohol. She then lit a cigarette.

"No smoking," a waitress called out. Wu nodded, but finished her Double Happiness brand cigarette before stubbing it out on the tiled floor.

Such scenes are typical and illustrate the challenges China faces in tackling the explosion of chronic diseases such as heart disease and cancer, two top killers here.

"I smoke because I work in sales and it helps me cope with the stress of meeting targets," said Wu, a slightly overweight woman who smiles warmly but has stained teeth. "I know it is bad for me, and I'm trying to quit, but I'm still very healthy now, and I'm optimistic about my future."

Newly prosperous, China is facing a very changed health picture from a generation ago when it still was largely poor and agrarian and the diseases plaguing Chinese have changed, too.

Heart disease, cancer and respiratory disease have replaced hepatitis, diarrhea and malaria as desk work replaces farming, cars replace bicycles and smoking remains stubbornly popular.

Chronic diseases account for more than 80 percent of deaths in China, or nearly 8 million in 2008, according to the World Health Organization (WHO).

Compared with the United States, China has three times the death rate from respiratory diseases such as emphysema. By another measure, Chinese are healthier, with only one-quarter of the population overweight, compared to two-thirds of Americans.